Lesvos belongs to the islands of the Eastern Aegean Sea and is the third largest island in Greece, after Crete and Evia. Its geographical area is close to 1,630 sq.km., with a coastline of 370 km.

It is located at the entrance of the Adramytic Gulf and is 5 to 8 nautical miles from the coasts of Asia Minor – approximately. It belongs to the Prefecture of Lesvos, which also includes the islands of Lemnos, Agios Efstratios and small rocky islets in the area.

There are two gulfs – of Gera and Kalloni – while a multitude of coves and capes are formed around the perimeter, morphological elements due to the peculiar shape of the island. There are no particularly extensive plains, while the most important – in terms of area and productivity – are Kalloni, Ippio, Perama and Eressos.

In various parts of the mountain range there are torrents, which leak the plains, such as Tsiknias to the north, Tsichliotas to the west, Mylopotamos to the central and Sedountas and Almyropotamos to the south.

Western Lesvos, compared to the rest of the island, is barren, with the exception of small plains, while the eastern and central parts are overgrown with olive groves (approximately 11,000,000 olive trees), pines, firs, plane trees, chestnuts, beeches and beeches. . Also, the Lesbian countryside is covered with myrtle, laurel, and other shrubs, as well as a huge variety of aromatic plants and herbs. In general, the flora of Lesvos is very rich.

From a climatic point of view, Lesvos has a mild, Mediterranean climate, with a lot of sunshine throughout the year. Rainfall – with a maximum in December and a minimum in July – contributes positively to soil fertility. The winter is mild, with a rare phenomenon of snowfall – with the exception of the mountains – while there are winds throughout the year, with an increase during the period July – August, the so-called “Aegean meltemia”.

Ο πληθυσμός της Λέσβου ανέρχεται περίπου στους 100.000 κατοίκους και η Μυτιλήνη είναι η πρωτεύουσα του νησιού, καθώς και διοικητικό κέντρο- έδρα της Νομαρχιακής Αυτοδιοίκησης Λέσβου, Υπουργείου Αιγαίου, Περιφέρειας Βορείου Αιγαίου και Πανεπιστημίου Αιγαίου.

Lesvos includes a total of 13 Municipalities: Agiasos, Agia Paraskevi, Gera, Eresos, Evergetoula, Kalloni, Loutropoleos Thermi, Mantamadou, Mithymna, Mytilene, Petra, Plomari and Polichnitos.

The sweet ouzo, the virgin olive oil, produced from the blessed fruit of the earth, the olive, which is found on every slope, in every part of the island and the locals collect it with great difficulty.

Dairy products and especially the famous oil cheese, which are known in all corners of our country, and slowly in all European countries.

Let us not forget also the products produced by the various cooperatives of the island, such as pasta, sweets, liqueurs etc.

Lesvos is the ideal island that combines mountain and sea. Calm and intense life. It is the ideal destination for those who have a family, but also for those who like the most lonely life and adventure. You are given the opportunity to engage in a variety of water sports, enjoy the sun and relax lying on a beach.

For those who love birds, dozens of rare ones that are already migratory and not, invite you to admire them. Rarely already plants and flowers, as well as types of amphibians live and grow in almost all areas of the island.

Do not waste time! Start now to get to the beautiful island of Lesvos. We are waiting for you.